Annaleaz

Interviews

annaleaz

What is your name and occupation?
            Annaleaz De La Torre-Fennell, Graduate student and small business owner of Two if by Seam
Why do you think women judge each other so harshly?
            In general, people judge to others to make themselves feel better. Women have fallen into judging because the majority want to be the “ideal” woman, who is portrayed by media and perpetuated by other women and men. However, we all realize that there is no way to be this “ideal” woman and to compensate for our shortcomings, we judge others to make ourselves feel that much closer to “perfection” rather than understand that our differences are what makes us perfect.
What do you think young women need to hear more often?
            As a female, we do not need to live up to anyone’s expectations but our own. Whether it be for a friendship or a relationship, we should never change our standards and our brains for anyone. Be you through everything.
What do you think is your best quality?
            Perseverance. The amount of times I have been called fat, ugly, worthless, too smart, never going to do anything, weird, so on, have not brought me down. Each comment made to me has helped me push on rather than be a reason to give up.
What accomplishment are you most proud of?
While getting my masters degree in business and engineering so young is a success, I am most proud of starting a business at 20. It has made me learn to network, market, and push myself to constantly learn outside of the classroom.
What advice would you give your younger self?
            Impossible is a state of mind. Through hard work and often rather large amounts patience, every goal can be met, in one way or another. Just because it gets tough doesn’t mean to give up. Keep pressing on.
How do you find ways to be happy?
            I dance and sing around my room. I also craft, often. I’m an old lady in a 21-year-old body.
How do you learn to love yourself more?
            I make sure the people I talk to and choose to be around don’t put me down but encourage me. They also help me put things in perspective for me. Also, I have a fantastic boyfriend. He helps keep me positive and not put myself down.
How do you think other girls could learn to love themselves more?
            Honestly, girls need to believe in themselves and not lower standards for anyone. Just doing this has limited my regret in my life and I am proud of my decisions choices, making me love myself more one choice at a time.
       Is there anything else you would like to add?
For any of those girls that love the sciences or math, keep it up! Multiple guys have told me that smart girls are intimidating. That’s not true. Be yourself and some guy is going to not just like you for it, but love you.
Leave a Reply

