February 1st, 2017: Carmen

Uncategorized


-What is your name and occupation?
Hello! My name is Carmen Galeano and I work alongside my husband in youth ministry and I teach secondary art part-time at an academy. When I’m not doing those jobs I’m a mom of two boys and I run a personal blog 🙂
-Why do you think women judge each other so harshly?
The reasons honestly are endless and sometimes far deeper than most of us even understand. I truly believe that we as women judge harshly, because we in our own way believe our way is best. Dare I say many judgements are out of ignorance rather than intention. 
-What do you think young women need to hear more often?
Develop the skill of being comfortable in your own skin. We all fight so much to be as far from or different than we really are that we convince ourselves of a lie. Or the “friends” we think we have are less than stellar. When you start becoming comfortable with who you are, you’ll find the quality of your life grows tremendously. All areas of it, and the world around you benefits from your self-acceptance and love. 
What do you think is your best quality?
I think my best quality is listening haha. Though I love laughing and creating, I think I’m really good at just being a listening ear. 
-What accomplishment are you most proud of?
I’m most proud of being able to successfully have a VBAC with my second child Titus. Birth is something I had hoped to experience naturally, but was unable to with my first. So being able to plan and have a vaginal birth was incredible.
-What advice would you give your younger self?
Love yourself! Truly love who you are, because it’s great and wonderful. You offer something to this world and don’t forget that.
-How do you find ways to be happy?
As I’ve embraced and respected that I’m an introvert at heart, I make sure to take breaks and have time to myself. I’m most happiest usually after my kids are asleep and I know I took care of them, my mind is able to rest. So I read or write or just mentally relax. 
-How do you learn to love yourself more?
I think it’s a process. It’s a cycle of forgiving yourself and creating your own safe place – that sense of being comfortable in your own skin. Truly loving yourself is knowing yourself: good, bad, and indifferent. 
-How do you think other girls could learn to love themselves more?
I think by surrounding yourself with other women that love themselves. I’m a firm believer of two things: 1. You are what you believe and 2. You can only take someone as far as you’ve been. So if you’re around insecure women they can only take you that far or women that don’t believe in the importance of loving who you are will exemplify that. 
– Is there anything else you would like to add?
Thank you so much for having me!! I really love what you’re doing and can’t wait to see the love and positivity spread from your space! 

Leave a Reply

