Mariah : January 2nd, 2017

Interviews, Uncategorized

image

What is your name, age and occupation?
My name is Mariah, I am 18 and I work in retail.

Why do you think women judge each other so harshly?
I feel like somehow everyone is jealous of each other. So people try to find something wrong with the person that they’re judging to make themselves feel higher then that person. In a way society makes it okay for people to judge other people. Especially with girls, we see celebrities being judged every day. So we feel like we’re critics.

What do you think young women need to hear more often?
That it’s okay to be weak and vulnerable sometimes. That ties in with the last question because everyone is judged and it’s okay to show your feelings towards that. I feel like women feel like they have to be strong all the time and not show that something hurts. It’s okay to make mistakes.

What do you think is your best quality?
I think I’m a good listener. I feel like people are comfortable coming to me with their problems, even if I don’t give the best advice, sometimes it’s good for people to just vent. Because for me, I like to tell certain people my problems and I don’t want necessarily want for them to say something back I just have to let it out. And I feel like I’m like that for people like they can just come and talk to me about their problems.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?
Graduating high school. That makes me seem like a slacker, but throughout my academic year I had tough situations that I went through. When my cousin passed away and when my mom had cancer, I felt like I had to grow up really fast. So in high school I kind of rebelled and felt like it wasn’t as important because I mentally already grew up so fast.

What advice would you give your younger self?
That you don’t have to accomplish everything. Like with me growing up so fast so young. Like it’s okay to have a childhood, to make mistakes. You don’t have to please everyone. A lot of kids feel like they have to grow up super fast because of situations that they’re in. When my mom was sick I felt like I had to grow up and take care of her and I didn’t let anyone else take care of me.

How do you find ways to be happy?
Panda Express. I get happy when I’m around certain, positive people or when I’m in a positive environment. But honestly Panda Express makes me happy.

How do you learn to love yourself more?
I’ve always been super self conscious about my body type because I used to be a pretty chubby kid. If I’m feeling down about myself, I look at old pictures and you can see a huge difference. I’ve lost almost 100 pounds, so it’s nice to see how far I’ve come. When I was little I was obsessed with being skinny but now I see all these plus sized models and it makes me feel better about myself.

How do you think other girls could find ways to love themselves more?
I feel like everyone should find something about themselves that they admire, or that other people admire. It’s always good to compliment girls and boost their self confidence because you never know they could be insecure about certain things that you actually like about them. Every girl should find something they like about themselves whether it’s a physical quality or another quality about themselves. You never know what they could be going through that day, and then just one compliment could make them feel better. More girls need to compliment instead of judging each other.

Leave a Reply

