Meet Dani

Interviews

img_0425

 

What is your name age and occupation?

Danielle Kelley (most of my close friends & family call me Dani), 30, I work in Digital Marketing for a technology company as a Product Owner & I’m also a Freelance Writer & Editor.

What do you think young women need to hear more often?

Being a woman is HARD; hell being a human is hard these days but what a beautiful journey it can be. It’s so much more than being strong, but having to fall all the way down (more than once) and understanding that picking ourselves back up can’t always be done ALONE. I believe that life is a little harder for women because we are constantly having to prove our status. We have to prove that we can balance motherhood, a career, the choice to not have kids, our sexuality, marriage, friendships… it’s exhausting.

Why do you think women judge each other so harshly?

We can be very judgmental by nature but I think one of the main reasons women judge so harshly is simply because they don’t love themselves FIRST. We are a reflection of ourselves and I’m a firm believer that what we get back, what we put into the Universe. It’s not hard to be kind, show respect, lift one another up as women and support each other, but it is hard for women to just be themselves and not care what other women think of them. The amount of solace and the kindness I’ve received from other women, just by showing a small amount of support and gratitude is incredible. Let’s not make each other small by making yourself look bigger. Just accept that we are all different and on our own journey to  success, happiness… and LIFE.

What do you think is your best quality?

We are our toughest critics and often driven by fear, if we allow ourselves to fall down to the ground and believe that we are strong enough to pick ourselves back up, we can achieve so much more. Life isn’t all rainbows and sunshine— it’s rainbows, sunshine, unicorns, thorns, needles, fire and beauty all rolled up into one. Don’t let fear limit you, but help you drive down this chaotic path we are all on. When you see what you’re capable of, understand your strengths, accept your challenges and keep moving forward, it’s one of the many reasons why I can still keep going in life.

What advice would you give your younger self?

BE NICE TO YOURSELF FIRST!!! This is what I would love to tell each and every woman I meet. We don’t exist to please men. We don’t exist to please women. We don’t exist to be rich one day. We don’t exist to drive a nice car and live in a fancy house and be better than everyone else. We exist to be a little bit better versions of ourselves than the day before. To grow and learn and understand the challenges that are life and that the simple things, really can make you happier.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

As a woman who grew up with major challenges, lost a parent suddenly at a young age and didn’t value herself at all until the past couple of years, I’m proud of my strength, hard work, motivation, and independence. I’m happy that I can now see the good in most things and I’m becoming comfortable with who I am. I embrace my “nerdiness” and enjoy being a voracious learner. I’m not afraid to take major risks and love the crazy life journey I’m on.

What advice would you give your younger self?

Advice I would give to my younger self- without the depth of a kind soul, life will be NOTHING of value to you.

How do you find ways to be happy?

I find a tremendous amount of joy traveling, reading books, drinking strong coffee, deep, wonderful conversations and laughing until it hurts. The life I’m building is simple and it makes me feel incredibly empowered to know that I am entirely up to me and that I have opportunities and choices.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

Chloe, your blog is beautiful and I love the message you are portraying. We need to stand together as women and not against each other. This small act of kindness you are putting out into the Universe, reflects what a beautiful soul you are. KEEP IT UP.

“To experience love for each other, we have to love and let love.”

Kindly,

Danielle Kelley

Leave a Reply

