Tuesday Books 

Tuesday Books


This week’s Tuesday Books is going to this guy right here.

As you guys know, I saw Alan Cumming in his show Alan Cumming Sings Sappy Songs in Seattle on Saturday night, and I would see it again in a heartbeat if I could. The show was extremely entertaining, with moments from laughing out of your seat, to getting goosebumps from Cumming’s performances and stories.

But enough about that, I’ll go into detail about his show in a vlog. For now, I iust want to focus on his book, Not My Father’s Son. Wow. To read this book, and to find out the difficult child hood he had, the verbal and physical abuse, absolutely breaks my heart. Seeing him in person, you would have never known he had such a horrible upbringing. Alan Cumming is incredibly happy, charming, witty and of course talented. 

The novel focuses on is toxic relationship with his father, and how he went to a theater school in Glasgow in order to get away from his father. This book is a whirlwind of adventures. Have a tissue ready for when you remember that it’s all entirely true. 

After seeing him live, I have the most respect and love for him. To know that he decided to to fight on and be the best version of himself, to see where he is now is truly incredible. What an inspiration this man is to people.

I really hope you read this, you won’t regret it. 

And if you’re able to see his show, take me with you.

Until next time, 

Chloe. 

Leave a Reply

