Ranting and Raving

Ranting & Raving

IMG_5224

Today, I think we need to talk about social media etiquette, specifically facebook.

It seems to me that there are no longer any boundaries or any form of privacy. People are quick to judge, hate, and share things with little to no common sense. We need to establish some ground rules. Here are my top 3:

  1. Don’t share your political views: I don’t care if I agree with you and I think all your opinions are valid. Politics and religion are two topics you almost never want to bring up with any friend, old or new. You need to keep your views to yourself, as it will not bring you the attention you so desire. It’s not okay that we begin to judge each other merely through our specific views. Once you throw your views in other people’s faces, it makes it harder for them to see what kind of person you were before you labeled yourself in such a way. Nothing will come of this and you need to stop.
  2. Don’t share your religious views: Similarly to political views, religious views are also something that needs to be kept private. I don’t want to sound hateful, we all have our own views and that’s awesome. All I’m saying is, with how people are nowadays, we tend to make things a bigger deal then they are. You need to know your audience. Say you keep sharing posts of how dumb trump is or how you believe God is good, while others may share the same view as you, others do not. And it is awkward and uncomfortable.
  3. Don’t be afraid to be private: I can’t begin to tell you how many things I see on my facebook that I believe should not be on there. Don’t put yourself out there all at once like that. What’s wrong with keeping things private? Political beliefs? Keep it private. Religious beliefs? Private. Relationships, work problems, fights, keep it private. This is the biggest mistake people make when it comes to this generation and social media. I’m not saying you shouldn’t trust anyone but there needs to be boundaries set. I guarantee you that a majority of your friends on facebook are people that you rarely see or haven’t even met. Do you really want all these people to see things that are intimate?

These are things that I hope many of you will consider, as I always try to be respectful and private on all of my accounts.

That’s all,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

