Dating is Dead 

Ranting & Raving


Let me start off by apologizing for the belated posts. This is going to be a rant on everything that is wrong with dating in this generation. 

Dating is a dying art, simple as that. 

I cringe everytime I get a message from a guy asking to “hangout” or “watch a movie”. No, don’t waste my time. If you’re so anxious to spend some alone time with me, then you better prove yourself. Plan something, make time, be thoughtful, be a gentleman. 

I’ve only been on two dates throughout my young dating life, and they were great. Both of these men took the time to talk to me and get to know me, find out what I liked. The dates were special because they were very thoughtful. 

What’s so wrong with getting to know a girl and wanting to take them out? Boys, if you’re reading this, stop being lazy. If you don’t want anything serious then keep doing what you’re doing. But if you want respect and a good girl with substance, then try

Haven’t any of you guys been forced to sit through some romcom that one of your ex’s made you watch? What did she like about it so much? It was original, it was romantic. I guarantee you she fantasized about it because it seems as if whatever happened in the story would never happen in real life. I understand that movies and books set the expectations ridiculously high sometimes, but if you put in some effort, it’ll be worth it in the end.

I’m not just saying this for me, or for the other girls out there too, but even for you guys. The good ones will know what I mean. Look to the scene in Sixteen Candles, when the ever so dreamy Jake Ryan has a conversation with The Nerd about Samantha Baker. They’re in the kitchen, in the middle of a horribly trashed house talking about love. It’s one of my favorite movie lines ever, due to the audience it was directed at:


There you have it, words of wisdom from Anthony Michael Hall. Take notes, learn things. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Until next time,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

