Mathilde

Interviews

FullSizeRender (11)

 

My name is Mathilde Maire, I’m 21 and an English student.

Why do you think women judge each other so harshly?

I think it’s due to how society has always been very critical of women and pitting women against each other.

What do you think young women need to hear more often?

Young women need to know that they’re appreciated and that they have so much potential. I am so sick of all the negativity surrounding teenage girls and how they’re not taken seriously. Every thing they do is seen as silly- just look at how Young Adult literature (a genre written for and read mostly by young women) is perceived! They need to know that they can do so much and that they shouldn’t let anybody tell them otherwise.

What do you think is your best quality?

Oh that’s a hard question, I never quite know what to say to that! I would say that my best quality is that no matter what. I always try to do my best-probably has something to do with me being a perfectionist.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

This is a boring answer but it’s going to be my degree! I started a Bachelor of Arts in English studies four years ago and I was so passionate about it. I graduated a year ago with the highest honors and I’m very proud of my degree-even though I’m changing course and will be studying something completely different next year.

What advice would you give your younger self?

I would say: don’t be afraid of failure-it’s part of life! You will end up making mistakes but that’s not the end of the world, even if it feels like it at the moment.

How do you find ways to be happy?

I surround myself with good people and find pleasure in the simplest things- reading a good book, hanging out with my friends, going on a walk in the city, etc.

You can follow Mathilde’s lovely instagram account here @relationsheep

Leave a Reply

